Digital Copy

Last week I got a Blu-Ray/DVD/Digital copy combo disc for a popular animated movie. I am (was) a fan of digital copies that I could transfer to my computer and watch on my Apple TV. Was a fan because the copy was really bad, all sorts of compression artifacts and blotchy colors. Turns out it is a 640×480 version of the movie and the file was over 1GB in size suggesting the compression treatment on the file was terrible. Given how bad it was I am not sure why they include digital copies. Hard to see how it could look good on any device.

Note to the movie distributors (Disney), if you are going to include a digital copy you should make sure it looks good, what I saw was pretty insulting the people who created the movie.

Leave a Reply

