WhistlePig: A minimalist real-time search engine

By way of “Jeff’s Search Engine Caffè“, I came across WhistlePig, a small realtime search engine written in C and Ruby.

A few things caught my eye about this. One was the sort order which is hardwired to be in reverse chronological order. This was the same default sort order we used at Feedster and this allows for quite a few optimizations. The other is that it allows for the realtime addition of documents. I played around this with in a test search engine I built for fun after I left Feedster.

I should have some downtime in the next few months so I will take a look at this search engine.

Leave a Reply

