AppleTV updates

According to ArsTechnica, Apple is working hard on an update to the AppleTV. There are two interesting things in this report.  The first is that the new software will be based on iOS. The second is that they are working on a device which will plug into the TV and stream content only (but will still have a small amount of local storage for caching.)

Frankly I think the software is fine when compared to other options that are out there. I recently bought a new BluRay DVD player which can hook into my Netflix and Amazon accounts to stream movies from them. I can safely say that the implementation is a POS. I spent more than an hour getting the Netflix connection to work, and for some reason it tells me that there is a billing issue when I try to access Amazon. Oh and the whole UI/UX on the DVD player is also a POS. Needless to say I won’t be buying another BluRay DVD player from this company again. Actually I may not be buying another BluRay DVD player all, simply because I don’t want to buy any more BluRay disc. Having to waste 5-10 minutes sitting through previews which cannot be skipped after I have spent $20+ on the  BluRay disc is simply intolerable. At this point I cringe every time I turn on my BluRay DVD player. (For the record I did call customer support about the previews and they simply don’t care, the call was dropped while I was on hold.)

On the other hand I think a little streaming device would be great. It simply makes no sense to store the content on both my desktop machine under iTunes and on the AppleTV. Added to which I can’t fit all my media on the AppleTV which means I have to manage what media is there.

 

Leave a Reply

