Before And After

I thought I would do something new for this scuba picture posting. The truth is that most (all!) scuba pictures need some post-processing to look good and the amount of time I spend on picture depends not only on how much work it needs but also on how good the picture is. Typically I will take up to 1,400 pictures on a dive trip, I come back with about 800 (600 get ditched while on the trip), I pick around 100-125 which are worth post-processing and three or four come out really well.

This is the initial picture of a Sea Turtle taken on a night dive in the Cocos Island. It was moving close to the surface and I had to shoot from the hip to get this picture, in fact I was swimming alongside it, holding out the camera, aiming as best I could taking shots. I got three shots, one was of a flipper only and the other had someone else’s flash in it. I was very lucky to get this shot. As you can see there is a lot of ‘snow’, reflections from particles and creatures floating in the water due to the flash. In the bottom of the picture you can see a couple of shark eye reflections.
Sea Turtle Master Image

So cleaning all those up and adjusting the color a little yielded this which I think is a lot better.
Sea Turtle Image

All the snow is gone, the color of the Sea Turtle is a little more saturated and the black of the water is deep.

I will post some more before and after pictures in the next few weeks so you can see what one has to content with.

One Response to Before And After

  1. Pingback: Before And After II « François Schiettecatte’s Blog

Leave a Reply

