Testing the installer

I spent a day last week putting the installer through its paces (a nice way of saying debugging). The easiest way to do this for me was to create a virtual machine in VMWare Fusion on my Mac, install vanilla versions of Centos 5.2 for i386 and x86_64 (boring but stable,) take snapshots before running the installer, run the installer, check the install, and then revert back to the snapshot. Really simple method to reset the machine before a new test.

In the process I did find that the Intel C/C++ compiled version of MySQL for x86_64 was compiled against libstdc++ 5.0 and not 6.0 which is what is present on Centos 5.2 (and Centos 5.0 for that matter so this is not new.) The GCC compiled version of MySQL for x86_64 was compiled against libstdc++ 6.0. A little irritating since I like the Intel C/C++ compiled versions because they are about 10% faster than the GCC compiled versions, and as we all know a well tuned RDBMS system should be CPU bound.

What I also found was that 5GB in my MacPro is not enough to run multiple virtual machines without causing the machine to flush all inactive apps to swap, causing a lot of disk I/O when going back to them, so I ordered an extra 4GB to help with that. It would also help to get a faster primary disk but that will have to wait a while.

Leave a Reply

