Installers ahoy

I am wrapping up work on the installer I started working on over the weekend.

The goal of the installer is to have a single script I can run on a pristine machine (or image), tell it what I wanted installed (crawler, api, indexer, etc…) and boom! five minutes later I have a fully installed, fully configured instance. Or course the best thing to do is to create an instance image which I can run in the cloud, but I need the installer to create the image. The exercise of building the installer is very good at getting a handle on which files, libraries and what-have-yous go with each sub-system. As a side-bar we did not have that at Feedster for the longest time, which was a bad mistake.

By the end of the weekend I decided that the best way to approach this is to assume that I was installing on a pristine machine (say a CentOS installation) and assume nothing, well assume that there is at least a network and a few tools like svn, gcc and make. So everything needs to checked for and, if needed, checked out and installed, right down to things like java and ant. This caused me to look again at the structure of my svn repository and effectuate a reorganization which helped a lot both from a code organization point of view and an install process.

Leave a Reply

