When not to send a drive in even if it is under warranty

One of my drives failed over the weekend, it was the main drive on the the main computer (I had a current backup so lost no data,) but I ran into the issue of whether to send the drive in under warranty or not. The drive is an expensive 150GB WD Raptor which spin at 10,000RPM (it does make a difference,) so I would like to get it fixed under the warranty. The problem is that the drive won’t even spin up so I can’t wipe it.

So it won’t get sent it because of the data that is on it, way too much personal stuff there. I will use it as a paperweight for a while, take it apart to satisfy my inner geek and then take a hammer to it.

Leave a Reply

