iTunes activation of iPhones is no more

I just saw that the activation of iPhones via iTunes is no more.

On one hand I can understand this, requiring people to download iTunes to activate and manage their iPhones was probably a show-stopper for a lot people and there was some amount of push-back on this when the iPhone was first introduced.

Now that the iPhone has 3G, and that you can get more and more content onto it without needing iTunes, I makes sense to cut that tether (or is it an umbilical cord?)

The flip side of this of course is that the only time I have ever had a positive activation with my cell phone is when I did it through iTunes. Every time before that, AT&T (and Cingular before them) messed something up and I had to spend 30 minutes on the phone with them sorting out billing and plan issues.

Leave a Reply

