More on the NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT

Previously on this blog I described some issues I had with the NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT video card upgrade from Apple.

In short I ordered two cards thinking that I could use both in my MacPro, but one of the cards died on me and Apple support told me that they do not support putting two of those cards on a MacPro.

The dead card is now on its way back to Apple for a refund, and I put the two NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT video cards I pulled from the machine back in the machine (now running with three cards, one for each display.)

I did a little more research on Apple’s web site and a dual NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT video card configuration should be supported. The NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT video card draws 110W and the MacPro supports up to 300W of power for video cards (presumably from the PCIe bus itself and via the motherboard jumper.)

Leave a Reply

