1080i or 720p on my AppleTV

For a while I had been wondering if I should set my AppleTV to display 1080i or 720p. I tried both and they look pretty much the same to me, but then again I have strange eyesight, I am slightly long sighted in one eye and slightly short sighted in the other.

I found nothing about this the last time I checked on the internet for an answer, but today I found a couple of interesting threads on the apple discussion forums about this, this one talks specifically about 1080i or 720p and this one talks about resolution question/observation.

Basically it comes down to this, 720p is better than 1080i because:

It’s both. Yes, the scaler on your Bravia is superior to the one on the tv. But the bigger factor is that all of the video standards supported by tv (MPEG-4, h.264) are progressive-scan only. So, in 1080i mode, your tv interlaces while your Bravia then deinterlaces (which typically softens the image, though I’m not aware of what algorithm Sony uses on the Bravia line). Anyway, as you’re aware, that’s not an optimal combination when the source files are progressive-scan.

Leave a Reply

