MacOS X 10.5 vs. 10.4.11

Interesting quandry to have, install Mac OS X 10.5 or 10.4.11?

I just read that Mac OS X 10.4.11 is about to come out in the next couple of days, right along with MacOS X 10.5.

The big question is, which one does one install? Typically I install new releases a few days after they come out, after checking out people’s experiences and making sure there are no show-stopper for me.

But in this case I am not so sure. MacOS X 10.5 was delayed six months so you get the sense that Apple was under pressure to deliver, and what I have been hearing on the various podcasts that I follow is that this release is not quite as polished as previous major releases, so it might behoove one to wait until that first update, namely 10.5.1.

What I will probably do is install 10.5 on my laptop to see how well it works and wait for the 10.5.1 update. At which point I will update my desktop machine. If history is any guide, we should see 10.5.1 before the year ends.

Leave a Reply

