Technorati stumbles

It looks like Technorati has just stumbled.

I am sorry to hear that things are not going well for them, but they are in a tough market, especially since Google got into it with their blogsearch.

Disclaimer – I am stockholder in Feedster, and still consult with them from time to time.

2 Responses to Technorati stumbles

  1. noel says:

    I have to say, apart from my time working for Feedster, RSS has just never been all that significant to me or anybody else I know’s internet experience. The whole concept is contrary to how I do things. Remember the early days when people signed up for a bazillion email newsletters? What happened? They got overwhelmed and stopped reading most of them. Their inbox got cluttered, and their organization got F’d degrading efficiency. I’m not saying that happens to everybody, but I saw it on many more than one occasion. RSS can feel the same — subscribe to too many feeds, get overwhelmed, fall behind, then feel like it’s more obligation than pleasure which was probably the initial reason for subscribing.

    I’m not attacking RSS — it’s a useful technology, but its a niche. The need for a separate search apart from general internet search is not something the majority of internet users care about I don’t think. Even if one does make use of RSS feeds, one probably subscribes to a site one already found and likes.

    Then again I could be way off base here.

  2. I am not convinced. You are talking about two different things.

    One is information overload caused by reading too many feeds, and that not an RSS issue, but an application issue, insofar as building better application to filter out the stuff you are not interested in reading. There has been some work done on that to sort and prioritize email based on relevance, but from what I can tell no-one has done that for RSS readers.

    The other is that RSS is a standard for publishing article style content, and for that it has been remarkably successful, because it is simple to generate and to comsume. At some point it will receed into the background, just like HTML has. When you subscribe to podcasts on iTunes, you don’t see RSS anywhere, but that is the underlying technology, which is the way it should be.

    RSS is not an end but a means.

    As for separating different types of search apart, I would agree that it does not really makes sense to the user, which is what is behind Google’s push on universal search.

Leave a Reply

