iPhone bluetooth headset

Lest anyone thinks I am an Apple fan boy, here is a post which may go some way to disabuse that notion.

I did get an iPhone 2 days after they launched and it has worked flawlessly to date. What did not work out of the box was the external charger, which I had to get replaced.

Earlier this week, I got an iPhone bluetooth headset. I got it mainly because I don’t really like the over-ear headsets that are more common. The Apple one fits nicely in my ear and I can wear it for extended periods of time without discomfort, unlike the Sony-Ericsson HBH-610a headset I already own.

That being said, the iPhone bluetooth headset went south on me on the second day, I just kept getting a lot of static and could not hear a thing that was being said at the other end. So I went back again to the Apple store and exchanged it.In Apple’s defense, both time I went into the store, the faulty gear was exchanged without a quibble.

On the up side, the iPhone bluetooth headset is light, fits nicely in my ear and I can wear it for extended periods of time without any discomfort. Also it is easy to put on, and the integration with the iPhone is very well done, for example if you answer the phone by clicking the headset the sound comes through the headset, but if you answer the phone directly by swiping the switch the sound comes through the phone. This may seem trivial but many was the time when I answered my RAZR by opening it, forgetting that the headset was active and wondering why I could not hear anything (time to replace the user I know…)

On the down side, the reception is not that great, there is more static than other headsets I have used, and there is a noticeable degradation in the sound quality when I move the phone away from the headset putting it, say, in my pocket.

Leave a Reply

