iPhone selling like hot cakes

By way of MacInTouch, it appears that the iPhone has been selling like hot cakes. PC Magazine tell us that the estimates are coming in at about 500,000 units sold over the weekend:

Gene Munster, a senior research analyst with Piper Jaffray, estimated that Apple sold approximately 500,000 iPhones in the past three days. Earlier this year, he predicted sales in the 200,000 range.

What is interesting are the mixes:

Piper Jaffray’s Munster and his associates interviewed 253 shoppers at the New York, San Francisco and Minneapolis Apple stores on Friday night and found that 95 percent were purchasing the 8-Gbyte iPhone instead of the 4GB device. Approximately 75 percent of purchasers were Mac users, he found.
Munster was surprised to discover that 68 percent said they would continue to use their iPods in conjunction with the iPhone despite the fact that the iPhone has a built-in iPod. Only 3 percent of respondents did not own an iPod.

On the provider front, 48 percent of those questioned were existing AT&T customers, the only wireless provider to provide service for the iPhone.

Most customers were getting the 8GB version rather than the 4GB version which is a surprise to me, I would have thought the reverse. I wonder if Apple predicted this based on the iPods selling patterns?

What is also interesting is that most people would continue using their iPods. I think this indicates two things. One is that people still like device specialization, one device for one task. And the other is that device size matters, I am not going to take my iPhone to the gym to listen to music, I would rather take my iPod since it is smaller. On the other hand when I travel, I will just put my music on my iPhone.

What is also interesting are the switchers:

An AT&T spokesman confirmed that “nearly all of our 1,800 … retail stores have sold out.” He declined to provide specific numbers or comment on when new devices might be delivered to stores, citing “competitive reason.”

The majority of iPhone purchasers, or 35 percent, were switching from Motorola devices, Munster said. Nokia and Treo users accounted for 13 percent of those surveyed, while the remainder used Samsung, LG or BlackBerry devices, he said.

Motorola is getting its lunch eaten by Apple over this, I think it is all those RAZR owners who bought the phone a couple of years ago and were looking around for a new phone, the current line of RAZRs are all variants of the original one, and thus are not very inspiring and all sport the same crumy user interface.

The interesting thing from my point of view is that I fit neatly into the above profiles. I have had my RAZR for two years now, the battery is failing, and I am tired of the complex and inconsistent user interface. The phone does look cool, but is dated, and the current RAZR line from Motorola is just variations on a theme. None of the so-called smart phones interest me because from what I understand none of them work seamlessly with the Mac.

I have 2 iPods (an 8GB nano and a clip-on shuffle) which I still plan to use, weight being a primary consideration, but I got the 8GB iPhone because I wanted as much space as possible to future-proof it.

Leave a Reply

