Om on line 1

I like Om Malik’s blog, he does not mince his words and usually has something smart or controversial to say, or both.

His post on the 5 ways the iPhone will change the wireless biz is well worth reading if you are interested in that space.

2 Responses to Om on line 1

  1. noel says:

    Been thinking about what the iphone might do to the phone industry. It’s so damn closed here in America. I wonder how much apple will really let developers make apps for their phone and break down the ‘walled garden’. Things are quite different in Japan where mobile phones and the internet have gone hand in hand for over 6 years. Even if apple succeeds, the mobile space is still terribly fragmented and proprietary. I guess I’ll believe it when I see it.

  2. I suspect that there will be developers who will break down down the “walled garden” and make apps for the iPhone, you only need to look at AppleTV to see that people are quite willing to do that. I think Apple will change the way we look at user interfaces on phone and raise the bar, which will be good for the consumers. I don’t profess to be an expert here, but it strikes me that phone user interfaces are still pretty poor. As for changing how the cell phone industry works, not likely, but only time will tell. I never thoughts that Apple would ever convince the record industry to ship unprotected music files and look at EMI.

Leave a Reply

