A Phone? From Google?

I know that this is all over the news on the net, but Google is planning to launch a phone.

I have to wonder why? If I was Google (I am just a lowly shareholder), I would have thought that it would make more sense to leave the task of desiging, manufacturing and selling phones to others, such as Motorola, Nokia, Samsung, et. al. and making sure that companies are partners whose phones can access Google for search, amongst other services.

If Google gets into the handset market, these partners could easily turn into competitors and the market for Google search on phone could suddenly get a lot smaller.

Or did I miss something obvious somewhere?

Leave a Reply

