Aggregators

Like most people, I use an aggregator for reading my RSS feeds. Actually it took me a while before I switched from reading website to using an aggregator, mainly because I did not follow that many web sites, (I was gainfully employed so time was an issue.

Now that I am no longer gainfully employed, I have the time to read many more web sites and am now using Vienna as my aggregator. I tried using NetNewsWire, but it wants me to register (first roadblock) and, for some reason, it would not let me register (second and final roadblock.)

I like Vienna, aside from the usual batch of features you come to expect from a aggregator, I can flag articles for later reading and I can open web pages in it (which are reopened when I quit the apps, a really nice touch.) There are two things I don’t like though, the application buttons are at the bottom of the application window, they should be at the top and they should be customizable. The other thing I don’t like is that there seems to be a serious memory leak in there somewhere meaning that I have to restart the application every few days because it just keeps getting slower.

I did try the Google Reader for a while, and it is very nice if a little slow. The one thing the have not implemented is search, and the reason why escapes me. I would like to be able to search across my subscriptions, and create feeds from those searches, just like Google Blogsearch. Why that feature is not in there escapes me.

One Response to Aggregators

  1. Pingback: Google Reader finally gets search « François Schiettecatte’s Blog

Leave a Reply

