I Love Hubris

Ah, I love the smell of hubris in the morning…

“Within three years it will just be Blu-ray,” said Frank Simonis, the Blu-ray Disc Association’s European chairman, speaking at the CeBIT technology trade show.

This is from AppleInsider.

Basically the claim is that Blu-ray has a commanding lead in the market because it is installed the PS3, and since that is the case, Blu-ray will win as the next generation hi-def DVD media.

An obvious thing is worth pointing out. Most of us don’t have PS3s, neither are we intending to buy one. So the claim is null and void.

What I may buy at some point is a DVD player which will play hi-def content. I don’t know what formats this player will play, I am still waiting for the market to figure that one out. I am also still waiting for a good selection of DVDs too, what has been put out so far does not have me entralled. I am also waiting for the prices to come down. And I am waiting to see how this whole DRM cruft shakes out.

I can tell you that I won’t be buying a PS3 because I don’t need or want a games console, so in my mind, what the next hi-def DVD media will be is still up in the air.

Leave a Reply

