iPhone and Apple TV

I have had a little time to digest all that has been written about the iPhone and Apple TV, and I think that the latter product will have more of an impact than the former.

What, huh!! Bear with me on this…

With the iPhone I think Apple, having redefined the portable music player market, is making a grab for the mobile device market. I think they have a good chance of getting there because the iPhone is so neat compared to the current competition. But the mobile market is much more established than the music market was when Apple entered it 5 years ago, and there is a lot more competition there too, competition which has deep pockets and which is not going to stand still. They are also going head to head with Microsoft who is becoming the dominant player in the mobile market with Windows mobile. While Apple may strike gold in the consumer space with the iPhone, I think it will be a lot harder to do so in the corporate market because there will need to be close integration with Microsoft products.

All this being said I think I will get an iPhone, not so much because it can play music (I already have two iPods) but because it offers good integration with the Mac (hence all my data), and because it provides adequate mobile internet access.

The device which is much more interesting to me is the Apple TV, with iTunes, that little device bypasses the normal delivery systems for television content, leaving the cable companies and the delivery system of traditional television networks high and dry. This delivery comes with the added frosting that there are (for the moment) no ads, and that I can watch what I want when I want, and I can go back to episodes I have missed. I may well start to watch television again. I cancelled my cable over a year ago when I realized that I had not picked up my TV remote for over six month. I think I did not pick up my remote because while I had 60+ channels, I did not want to have to wade through all the junk to get to the 2% that I wanted to watch. It just wasn’t worth my time.

All that being said, I think that Joost needs to be paid close attention to.

Leave a Reply

